Göteborgs Symfoniker

Play with the orchestra

In the clip, the Gothenburg Symphony Orchestra plays Debussy’s Danse sacrée et danse profane, but the soloist is missing – because that’s where you should take place! The score can be found below.

Claude Debussy was born 1862, in Saint-Germain-en-Laye, France, and died in Paris 1918. He was a French composer whose works were a seminal force in the music of the 20th century. He developed a highly original system of harmony and musical structure that expressed in many respects the ideals to which the Impressionist and Symbolist painters and writers of his time aspired.

His major works include Clair de lune (“Moonlight,” in Suite bergamasque, 1890–1905), Prélude à l’après-midi d’un faune (1894; Prelude to the Afternoon of a Faun), the opera Pelléas et Mélisande (1902), and La Mer (1905; “The Sea”).


Debussy’s Danse sacrée et danse profane, harp

Get news from GSOplay

Stay up to date with new concerts on GSOplay.