Live on GSOPlay

Artist in Residence: Janine Jansen

Add to calendar

LIVESTREAM 11 October 19.30 CET

We welcome this season’s artist in residence, Janine Jansen, who, at several concerts, will explore music from every angle alongside the Symphony.

The first piece will be Szymanowski’s first violin concerto from 1916, in which the Polish composer, like Debussy, seeks colours, sounds and rhythms that transport the listener to new, enchanted worlds. This music has passion and sensitivity, and should be performed with the same – Janine Jansen can certainly do that!

Tchaikovsky’s bittersweet symphony is the very essence of passion and sentiment, with emotions as naked as a bared soul. Varied contrast is delivered by Swede Daniel Nelson of Steampunk Blizzard, who, with motoric rhythms and industrial feel, takes us on a musical roller coaster ride.

Perfect for chief conductor Santtu-Matias Rouvali.


Nelson Steampunk Blizzard
Szymanowski Violin Concerto No 1
Intermisson Intermission 25 min
Tchaikovsky Symphony No 6 “Pathétique”


Gothenburg Symphony
Santtu-Matias Rouvali conductor
Janine Jansen violin


Subscribe to our newsletter to get information and offers from Göteborgs Konserthus directly to your inbox once or twice a month.

I want to subscribe

Newsletter from GSOplay

Subscribe to our newsletter from GSOplay and keep updated about what and when things happen.

I want to subscribe

School newsletter

Subscribe to this newsletter to keep updated about school conserts played in Göteborgs Konserthus.

I want to subscribe