Polar Star Prize 2021 | Nicole Biegniewska

A one-hit-wonder, one could somewhat disrespectfully describe Max Bruch, who in the 19th century was one of the popular composers in Europe.

He composed a lot but few of his works have survived: the exception is the first violin concerto, which is played regularly by international soloists around the world. Bruch certainly knew how to handle the violin and the soloists love it – among them Nicole Biegniewska who brings to life Bruch’s virtuoso and romantic expressions in this performance at the Polar Star Prize final with pianist Peter Friis Johansson.

The Polar Star Prize is arranged by the municipality of Vänersborg in collaboration with the Gothenburg Symphony Orchestra and several local, regional and national partners.


Bruch Violin Concerto No. 1, movement 1


Nicole Biegniewska violin

Peter Friis Johansson piano

The posts above are not moderated in advance and are therefore not covered by the website's publication authorization

Newsletter from GSOplay

Subscribe to our newsletter from GSOplay and keep updated about what and when things happen.

I want to subscribe

School newsletter

Subscribe to this newsletter to keep updated about school conserts played in Göteborgs Konserthus.

I want to subscribe