New Things to Come

Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen, Patrik Ringborg conductor, Elisabeth Leonskaja piano

New Things to Come

Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen, Patrik Ringborg conductor, Elisabeth Leonskaja piano

Expect the unexpected. Rarely has the familiar expression been as valid as it was for Richard Ayres.

Time and again, the British-born composer surprises both critics and audiences with his intriguing compositions. Sometimes touching and quietly beautiful, sometimes angry and explosive, always colourful and often with a humorous touch. Tonight is the world première of his latest work, named No 52.

The performance of Ayres work is followed by Beethoven’s Symphony No 2. It was performed for the first time in 1803, about the same time as Beethoven realised that he was about to lose his hearing. Orchestra: Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen.

“The second movement of the concerto, which is perhaps the most beautiful ever composed, is almost a revelation of unspoiled beauty.” The Music in question is Beethoven’s 5th and las piano concerto, “Emperor”, created when he no longer could hear. The quote is from Bent Sørensen who has composed the evening’s other work, Schreie und Melancholie, inspired by Beethoven’s late, strange music. Both works are performed this evening by Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen, with the legendary Russian-German pianist Elisabeth Leonskaja as soloist.

Take your time during the break

The concert has an extra long break so you can pick more goodies from the Point Music Festival. Add to your knowledge with a lecture about Beethoven with expert Åke Holmquist, be surprised by the dance company Art Of Spectra or take the opportunity to relax in the bars or the restaurant.

A part of Point Music Festival

The Gothenburg Concert Hall will be occupied by Point Music Festival 15-18 may. Join the exploration journey with open minds for unforgettable world-class music experiences! Pick one of the concerts or select several favorites and get 15% discount.

Point Music Festival is conducted with the support of the Sten A Olsson foundation for Research and Culture.


Ayres No. 52 (World Premiere)
20 min

Beethoven Piano Concerto No. 5 "Emperor"
38 min

15 min

Beethoven Defiant, Energetic, Heartfelt - lecture in German, Swedish subtitles
25 min

30 min

Sørensen Schreie und Melancholie
22 min

Beethoven Symphony No 2
33 min


Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen

Patrik Ringborg Conductor

Elisabeth Leonskaja piano

Sarah Christian Concertmaster

Åke Holmquist Lecturer

Newsletter from GSOplay

Subscribe to our newsletter from GSOplay and keep updated about what and when things happen.

I want to subscribe

School newsletter

Subscribe to this newsletter to keep updated about school conserts played in Göteborgs Konserthus.

I want to subscribe