Jukka-Pekka Saraste syns i profil. Han har grått välansat skägg och är fotad mot en bergvägg. Jukka-Pekka Saraste syns i profil. Han har grått välansat skägg och är fotad mot en bergvägg.

Göteborgs Konserthus Contrasts with Streich and Bruckner

Music for heart and mind, with the Gothenburg Symphony Orchestra and Jukka-Pekka Saraste, conductor.

Concert length: 2 h incl. intermission Scene: Stora salen
390-550 SEK Student 195-275 SEK Young up to 29 195-275 SEK

Europe’s top orchestras perform works by Lisa Streich. Now the Symphony Orchestra performs her Ice Heart, a high-contrast convergence of hot and cold. To conclude, we hear Anton Bruckner’s Symphony No. 5, which brings heart and mind together. Jukka-Pekka Saraste conducts.  

A heart is always red – and filled with warmth. But it is isolated in its cavity. This is the image that emerges in Ice Heart, a composition by Lisa Streich, the composer from Värmland who has garnered international acclaim. Berliner Philharmoniker gave the world premiere of Ice Heart in 2023. 

The concert begins with a solo performance on the concert hall organ, when well-known organist Karin Nelson performs music by Bach and her own improvisation.

Jumping off from the heart, well-established Jukka-Pekka Saraste throws himself into the world of Bruckner. Symphony No. 5 is a hidden gem among the many symphonic works for which Bruckner became famous. It begins with a slow adagio, foreshadowing the powerful tale that builds and builds, all the way to the choral finale. This powerful music is dedicated to eternity. 


Get to know Anton Bruckner Symphony No. 5.

Get to know composer Lisa Streich.

Introduction to the concert

Take a seat in the Great Hall one hour before the concert begins and learn more about the music you will soon experience! You will get the stories behind the music, knowledge of the composers and own reflections about the classical pieces. The introduction last for about 30 minutes, it is free and free seating in the hall. Welcome! 


Nelson Improvisation 4 min

J S Bach Fuga sopra il Magnificat, BWV 733 6 min

Streich Ice Heart 15 min

Intermission 25 min

Bruckner Symphony No. 5 (1878) 1 h 19 min

Thursday 20 February 2025: The event ends at approx. 21.30
Friday 21 February 2025: The event ends at approx. 20.00


Karin Nelson organ

Questions? Contact the ticket office
Man spelar på en cello i ett rött rum där tyg fladdrar runt honom

Set music to your life!

Choose a subscription in Gothenburg Concert Hall and get unforgettable experiences, a discounted ticket price, a seat at concerts that sell out quickly and your own seat in the hall. The concert magic you get for free.

Choose your subscription