Göteborgs Konserthus Master violinist James Ehnes

Event has already taken place. Gothenburg Symphony, Kent Nagano conductor, James Ehnes violin

Concert length: 2 h incl. intermission Scene: Stora salen
430 SEK Student 100 SEK

Event has already taken place

The first violin concerto to begin with timpani? Presumably, Beethoven knew what he was doing and imitation was not part of the process.

Inspiration and craftsmanship must have flowed in perfect harmony when he composed the work. The first movement is 20 minutes long –  and not a second too long – and with a matching trio and finale, it is a real classic, especially in the hands of the fabulously musical James Ehnes.

Kent Nagano holds the baton and also delivers Mendelssohn’s Fifth Symphony, composed in 1830 for the 300th anniversary of the Augsburg Confession – one of Protestantism’s most important documents and in Mendelssohn’s case, a musical celebration of a noble kind. Bonus: a pearl by Bach.



Bach / Stokowski Ein' Feste Burg 3 min

Mendelssohn Symphony No 5 "Reformation" 33 min

Intermission 25 min

Beethoven Violin Concerto 42 min


Gothenburg Symphony Orchestra

Kent Nagano conductor

James Ehnes violin

Questions? Contact the ticket office