Kvinna står på bergstopp med instument i hand med håret fladdrande i vinden Kvinna står på bergstopp med instument i hand med håret fladdrande i vinden

Göteborgs Konserthus Dvorák’s New World Symphony

Wide-open horizons with the Gothenburg Symphony Orchestra; Emilia Hoving, conductor; Juan Zurutuza, piano; and Amalie Stalheim, cello.

Concert length: 1 h 30 min incl. intermission Scene: Stora salen
390-550 SEK Student 195-275 SEK Young up to 29 195-275 SEK

Inspired by spirituals and Native American music, Dvořák wrote his celebrated Symphony No. 9 in the US. Amalie Stalheim also presents the acrobatic cello concerto by Hillborg, and has made it her own. The highly in-demand Emilia Hoving leads the orchestra. 

A fascination with folk music and a high salary were the deciding factors when the adventurous Dvořák moved his family to New York in 1892. He had been hired by the National Conservatory of Music of America, a new school of composition for American music. When Dvořák composed his New World Symphony in 1893, the inspiration came from spirituals and the music of Native Americans. The rolling plains of Iowa, which Dvořák visited, and the Bohemian mountains back home can be sensed in the Largo movement’s English horn solo. Its epic mood has made this symphony one of the world’s most beloved.  

In Anders Hillborg’s cello concerto, the full range of the cello blossoms – from the highest harmonics to the hauntingly dark bass end. Award-winning Amalie Stalheim is one of the Nordic region’s most prominent cellists, acclaimed for her unique expressiveness. 

To begin, we hear British Gerald Finzi’s little gem Eclogue, a conversation between shepherds in a bygone era. Finzi reworked an unfinished piano concerto into this truly pastoral piece. Performing the solo is the Symphony Orchestra’s pianist Juan Zurutuza. 


Get to know the music.

Get to know composer Anders Hillborg.

Introduction to the concert

Take a seat in the Great Hall one hour before the concert begins and learn more about the music you will soon experience! You will get the stories behind the music, knowledge of the composers and own reflections about the classical pieces. The introduction last for about 30 minutes, it is free and free seating in the hall. Welcome! 


Finzi Eclogue 10 min

Hillborg Cello Concerto 27 min

Intermission 25 min

Dvorák Symphony No 9 "From the New World" 42 min

Wednesday 4 December 2024: The event ends at approx. 21.00


Amalie Stalheim cello

Questions? Contact the ticket office
Vivaldi’s world
20 Oct 18.00

Italian beauty with the Baroque Academy Gothenburg Symphony; Stefano Veggetti, cello; and Terje Skomedal, concertmaster.

Read more
A tribute to Hillborg
28 Nov 19.30

Reverberant sounds with the Gothenburg Symphony Orchestra; Pekka Kuusisto, conductor; and Ida Falk Winland, soprano.

Read more
Man spelar på en cello i ett rött rum där tyg fladdrar runt honom

Set music to your life!

Choose a subscription in Gothenburg Concert Hall and get unforgettable experiences, a discounted ticket price, a seat at concerts that sell out quickly and your own seat in the hall. The concert magic you get for free.

Choose your subscription