Göteborgs Symfoniker
Streamed live on 9 Sep 18.00
Add to calendar

Mahler with Rouvali

Gothenburg Symphony Orchestra opens the season with wonderful string sounds, trembling nerves and loving playfulness together with chief conductor Santtu-Matias Rouvali, the conductor comet from Finland!

Mahler’s Symphony No. 5 vibrates to a tragic mix of dread and harmony. Trembling nerves, but also the adagietto’s wonderful string section that floats between a state of dreaming and the waking world. We can only imagine how the audience reacted when Mahler’s Symphony No. 5 premiered in Cologne in 1904 – a crazy trumpet that plays a bygone fanfare, followed by the explosion of the orchestra and then the emergence of a sorrowful melody. What an atmosphere! The entire symphony is characterised by a tragic mix of dread and harmony. The renowned adagietto features a string section that floats between a state of dreaming and the waking world – tranquil, soaring and motionless at the same time. Just a few decades earlier, a completely different sound filled the concert halls of Europe and Russia in a completely different era. Tchaikovsky’s Variations on a Rococo Theme represents noble classicism in a romantic costume, here reflected in all its loving playfulness by the Gothenburg Symphony’s solo cellist Claes Gunnarsson. Tchaikovsky composed his works at a time when his right to live honestly and love the one he wanted was so questioned that he tried to end his own life. Music, and this work in particular, was Tchaikovsky’s way of dealing with an inner struggle, and a reality that limited his freedom.

Livestudio and chat 17.45 CET

Get in mood for the concert with us in the live studio! Exciting interviews and conversations with participants in tonight’s concert is on the programme. You can also chat here on the website throughout the concert – feel free to share your thoughts, talk to other music enthusiasts from different parts of the world or ask a question to one of the moderators. The concert starts at 18.00 CET.

Get news from GSOplay

Stay up to date with new concerts on GSOplay.


Tchaikovsky Rococo Variations

Mahler Symphony No. 5


Gothenburg Symphony Orchestra

Santtu-Matias Rouvali conductor

Claes Gunnarsson cello