Göteborgs Konserthus The Polstjärnepriset Final

Event has already taken place. Prrepare for a thrilling afternoon at this year's final concert! Free entrance.

Concert length: 2 h 30 min incl. intermission Scene: Stora salen
Free entry

Event has already taken place

Following three rounds, four young musicians aged 14-18 are voted through to yet another nerve-racking Polstjärnepriset final, which is also a concert.

Before the interval, the four finalists play one piece each with the Gothenburg Symphony. After the interval, most of the young musicians who have participated in the competition play with the Symphony.

And then, the year’s winner of the prestigious award is, of course, announced, receiving 50000 SEK, a course at Musikakademi Vänersborg, as well as the chance to represent Sweden in the big European competition Eurovision Young Musicians.

Prepare for a thrilling afternoon. Entry is free, no booking. Just come!

About the Polstjärnepriset Award

Polstjärnepriset is a music course and competition. During the autumn break, around 50 course participants and 22 competitors gather in Vänersborg to play together in ensembles and orchestras, and to polish their technique with coaches from the Gothenburg Symphony, the Swedish Radio Symphony Orchestra, and the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra.

A number of other artists and pedagogues with great international experience are also there to really get the participants going. The young musicians are from across the country, and are aged 14-18.

Following the autumn break meeting, they will come back to Vänersborg at the beginning of January, for masterclasses and auditions for the Polstjärnepriset competition. First, eight candidates are selected, and in a second round, four finalists compete against each other in a final round of auditions. And it is this final round that takes place at the Gothenburg Concert Hall.


Tournier Cloches sous la neige from Images

Tomasi movement 1 from Trumpet Concerto

R Strauss movement 1 from Oboe Concerto

Dvorák movement 3 from Cello Concerto

Koussevitzky movement 2 and 3 from Contrabass concerto


Davidson Strata, Concerto Grosso version för solister och orkester

Holst Jupiter from The Planets


Rumon Gamba conductor

Andreas P Hansson conductor

Johanna Ander Ljung harp

Josef Wijk oboe

Ture Herrgårdh trumpet

Astrid Hillerud cello

Harald Edin double-bass

Polstjärneprisets Symfoniorkester

Petra Kloo Vik presenter

Questions? Contact the ticket office