Göteborgs Konserthus Elusive Love

Event has already taken place. Lyrical and uncompromising, with the Gothenburg Symphony Orchestra, conductor Pekka Kuusisto and violinist Ava Bahari.

Concert length: 2 h incl. intermission Scene: Stora salen
370-530 SEK Student 185-265 SEK

Event has already taken place

This evening’s programme features three works led by the charismatic violinist and conductor Pekka Kuusisto. Extremes meet here – Reger’s quiet arrangement of Bach’s chorale O Mensch, Bewein Dein Sünde Groß (O man, bewail your great sin) gives us time for reflection, while Schönberg’s uncompromising violin concerto with Swedish shooting star Ava Bahari takes us into elusive love. The evening is rounded off in the soft rhythms that have made Prokofiev’s Romeo and Julia such an immortal work.

As a composer, Prokofiev was driven entirely by his artistic vision. After the Russian Revolution, he left the country and lived in exile in the United States and France – not for political reasons but to gain peace of mind. Prokofiev was often criticized in his homeland for his “Western style” and at the same time received the Stalin Prize several times. Underneath all these contradictions is a distinctive style and an artistic drive that reaches through history.

The violinist Ava Bahari was born and raised in Gothenburg. She started playing the violin at the age of three and a half and has been a student of Per Enoksson, former first concertmaster of the Gothenburg Symphony. In 2015, Ava Bahari got a youth scholarship at the Stenastiftelsen and was able to start her studies at the Hochschule für Musik Hanns Eisler in Berlin.

Ava Bahari won the Pole Star Award in 2012 and has since established herself as a prominent soloist. In 2021 she won 3rd prize in the prestigious international Paganini competition.

She is also recognizable from the SVT series Molanders where she played the role of Julyia.

Previously announced Korngold’s Suite from the film Anthony Adverse and Barber’s Adagio for strings has been replaced by O Mensch, Bewein Dein Sünde Groß by Bach/Reger.


Get to know the classical pieces.

Introduction to the concert

Take a seat in the Great Hall one hour before the concert begins and learn more about the music you will soon experience! You will get the stories behind the music, knowledge of the composers and own reflections about the classical pieces. The introduction last for about 30 minutes, it is free and free seating in the hall. Warm welcome!


Intermission 25 min

Wednesday 25 January 2023: The event ends at approx. 21.30
Friday 27 January 2023: The event ends at approx. 20.00


Questions? Contact the ticket office
Man spelar på en cello i ett rött rum där tyg fladdrar runt honom

Set music to your life!

Choose a subscription in Gothenburg Concert Hall and get unforgettable experiences, a discounted ticket price, a seat at concerts that sell out quickly and your own seat in the hall. The concert magic you get for free.

Choose your subscription