Göteborgs Konserthus Tchaikovsky’s Violin Concerto with María Dueñas

Event has already taken place. Rhythmic energy with the Gothenburg Symphony Orchestra, conductor Jukka-Pekka Saraste and violinist María Dueñas.

Concert length: 2 h incl. intermission Scene: Stora salen
370-530 SEK Student 185-265 SEK

Event has already taken place

With its romantic, passionate themes and hortatory rhythmic energy, Tchaikovsky’s Violin Concerto leaves no audience unmoved. The same can be said of Nielsen’s Symphony No. 5, which is also on the programme for this concert. At its premiere, which caused quite a scandal, it was compared with the sounds from a cattle market, but today it has become a symphonic classic.

Tchaikovsky’s renowned Violin Concerto also met resistance to begin with. A violinist of the time thought it was unplayable, and a famous critic deemed it to be vulgar and brutal. Thankfully the field of music criticism has come a long way since then! With its intimately intense themes, rhythmic energy and captivating orchestral movement, Tchaikovsky’s Violin Concerto is in fact an indispensable part of the Western canon of music as an art form. He composed his works at a time when his right to live honestly and love the one he wanted was so questioned that he tried to take his own life. Music, and this work in particular, was Tchaikovsky’s way of dealing with an inner struggle, and a reality that limited his freedom. The soloist is the young rising star María Dueñas.

This evening the audience is also treated to Drifts by the Finnish composer Sebastian Fagerlund, featuring music with a richness of sound, rapid flows and high intensity.


Get to know the classic pieces.

Introduction to the concert

Take a seat in the Great Hall one hour before the concert begins and learn more about the music you will soon experience! You will get the stories behind the music, knowledge of the composers and own reflections about the classical pieces. The introduction last for about 30 minutes, it is free and free seating in the hall. Warm welcome!


Intermission 25 min


Questions? Contact the ticket office
Read more in the magazine

Nr 2 2022-2023 ”Den bästa känslan är kontakten med publiken”

Den allra bästa känslan är när man får kontakt med publik som älskar musiken lika mycket som jag.

Man spelar på en cello i ett rött rum där tyg fladdrar runt honom

Set music to your life!

Choose a subscription in Gothenburg Concert Hall and get unforgettable experiences, a discounted ticket price, a seat at concerts that sell out quickly and your own seat in the hall. The concert magic you get for free.

Choose your subscription