Göteborgs Konserthus Bartók’s Concerto for Orchestra

A fantastic classic with the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra and conductor Alan Gilbert.

Concert length: 1 h 45 min incl. intermission Scene: Stora salen
370-530 SEK Student 185-265 SEK

Composer Béla Bartók’s Concerto for Orchestra is a musical milestone that was composed in the USA, where he fled to escape the Nazi oppression in Europe. Bartók had scraped by during a few lean years in New York, but he had started to experience symptoms of what would later be diagnosed as leukemia. Perhaps he felt that his life was starting to slip away when he wrote his Concerto for Orchestra, as this music is like a summary of Bartók’s entire musical deeds. It captures his great love of folk music and is also very beautiful. This evening, Alan Gilbert leads the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra in a performance of this fantastic 20th century classic.

The programme also features the dramatic Amphitheatre by australian composer Brett Dean and Stravinsky’s Symphony in Three Movements. Igor Stravinsky is considered perhaps the most significant and influential composer of the 20th century. His contribution to music history is invaluable and his influence on both his contemporary and subsequent generations of composers places him in a special position in music history.

American conductor Alan Gilbert became chief conductor of Hamburg’s NDR Elbphilharmonie Orchestra in the autumn of 2019, and since 2021 he is Music Director of the Royal Swedish Opera in Stockholm. Alan Gilbert was chief conductor of the Royal Swedish Philharmonic Orchestra 2000–2008, and thereafter chief conductor of the New York Philharmonic Orchestra.


Get to know the classical pieces.

Introduction to the concert

Take a seat in the Great Hall one hour before the concert begins and learn more about the music you will soon experience! You will get the stories behind the music, knowledge of the composers and own reflections about the classical pieces. The introduction last for about 30 minutes, it is free and free seating in the hall. Warm welcome!


Dean Amphitheatre 10 min

Stravinsky Symphony in three movements 22 min

Intermission 25 min

Bartók Concerto for Orchestra 39 min


Kungliga Filharmoniska Orkestern

Alan Gilbert conductor

Questions? Contact the ticket office
Read more in the magazine

Nr 4 2021-2022 Béla Bartók,1881-1945