Göteborgs Konserthus CANCELED: A feast of strings!

Event has already taken place. Musicians from Gothenburg Symphony Orchestra

Concert length: 1 h Scene: Stenhammarsalen
270 SEK Student 135 SEK

Event has already taken place

Due to stricter restrictions, this concert has been canceled. If you bought a ticket online, the money will be refunded on the card you paid for it with. If you have bought them in another way, a gift card will be emailed to you. The gift card can be used as a means of payment in the Concert Hall or on gso.se. It is also possible to redeem for cash – this must, however, be done at the ticket office during regular opening hours.

More info about the decision to cancel / move events can be found here.

Do not miss the season’s live concerts on GSOplay. There you will also find a lot of other great concerts, interviews and clips.


Do you love string music? Then this is the chamber concert for you ! But beware, it delivers not only the all time masterpiece Mendelssohn’s octet – so beautiful that the composer put the Scherzo from it in his “ A Midsummer Night’s Dream” – but also a a Polish rarity.

Mendelssohn was only 16 when he wrote his classic octet, which according to one observer is “a wonder of perfection”. The concert’s octet is a “double string quartet” but the quartet by Bacewicz is for four violins! As a violinist, her ear for strings was unfailing, otherwise no one would dare to write for four violins…


The program may change due to restrictions and adjustments in connection with the ongoing pandemic.

Online-presale for subscribers

As a subscriber you have priority for the limited number of tickets that are released for sale. You book them via your web profile from 6 November 11.00.

Your visit

We do everything we can to ensure that you have a safe visit with us in the Concert Hall. We follow the Swedish Public Health Agency’s recommendations and constantly adapt to current guidelines. More information can be found here.


Bacewicz Quartet for four violins 12 min

Mendelssohn Octet 33 min


Musiker ur Göteborgs Symfoniker

Terje Skomedal violin

Joel Nyman violin

Charlotta Grahn Wetter violin

Pierre Guis violin

Tuula Fleivik Nurmo viola

Laura Groenestein-Hendriks viola

Oscar Sokk Kleväng cello

Antonio Hallongren cello

Questions? Contact the ticket office