Göteborgs Konserthus Beethoven’s Symphony No. 7 with Mäkelä and the Oslo Philharmonic

Melodic magic with the Oslo Philharmonic, conductor Klaus Mäkelä and violinist Isabelle Faust.

Concert length: 2 h incl. intermission Scene: Stora salen
370-530 SEK Student 185-265 SEK

Meet the visiting Oslo Philharmonic and acclaimed conductor Klaus Mäkelä, together with brilliant soloist Isabelle Faust, in Louise Farrenc’s melodically tasteful Overture No. 2, Beethoven’s Symphony No. 7 and Mozart’s Violin Concerto No. 5, his last such completed work. The concert begins in baroque style with Jean-Baptiste Lully’s Marche pour la Cérémonie des Turcs.

Louise Farrenc was a prominent member of the 19th century French music scene and was not only a composer but also a brilliant concert pianist. For thirty years she held the position of professor at the renowned Paris Conservatory. She was a huge admirer of Beethoven, which can be discerned in her two overtures. This evening we are also treated to Beethoven’s melodically light-hearted yet rhythmically intense Symphony No. 7, as well as Farrenc’s Overture No. 2, featuring music filled with melodic imagination, drama and harmonic nerve.


Get to know the classical pieces.

Introduction to the concert

Take a seat in the Great Hall one hour before the concert begins and learn more about the music you will soon experience! A musician from the Gothenburg Symphony Orchestra gives you the stories behind the music, knowledge of the composers and own reflections on what it is like to play the classical pieces. The introduction last for about 30 minutes, it is free and free seating in the hall. Warm welcome!


Lully Marche pour la Cérémonie des Turcs 3 min

Mozart Violin Concerto No. 5 31 min

Intermission 25 min

Louise Deuxième Ouverture Op. 24 12 min

Beethoven Symphony No. 7 40 min


Oslo filharmoniska orkester

Klaus Mäkelä conductor

Isabelle Faust violin

Questions? Contact the ticket office