Göteborgs Konserthus Canceled: NEW THINGS TO COME

Event has already taken place. Point Music Festival 2020 is canceled due to the corona pandemic. Purchased tickets will be refunded.

Concert length: 3 h 30 min incl. intermission Scene: Stora salen
490 SEK Student 245 SEK

Event has already taken place

Point Music Festival 2020 is canceled due to the corona pandemic. Purchased tickets will be refunded. Comprehensive handling may take time, but all ticket buyers will be contacted by mail. Thanks in advance for understanding and patience. For questions, please contact our ticket office: biljett@gso.se, +46(0)31-7265300.

Expect the unexpected. Rarely has the familiar expression been as valid as it was for Richard Ayres. Time and again, the British-born composer surprises both critics and audiences with his intriguing compositions. Sometimes touching and quietly beautiful, sometimes angry and explosive, always colourful and often with a humorous touch. Tonight is the world première of his latest work, named No 52.

The performance of Ayres work is followed by Beethoven’s Symphony No 2. It was performed for the first time in 1803, about the same time as Beethoven realised that he was about to lose his hearing. Orchestra: Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen.

“The second movement of the concerto, which is perhaps the most beautiful ever composed, is almost a revelation of unspoiled beauty.” The Music in question is Beethoven’s 5th and las piano concerto, “Emperor”, created when he no longer could hear. The quote is from Bent Sørensen who has composed the evening’s other work, Schreie und Melancholie, inspired by Beethoven’s late, strange music. Both works are performed this evening by Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen, with the legendary Russian-German pianist Elisabeth Leonskaja as soloist.

Point Music Festival is conducted with the support of the Sten A Olsson foundation for Research and Culture.


Ayres No. 52 (World Premiere) 20 min

Beethoven Piano Concerto No. 5 "Emperor" 38 min

Intermission 15 min

Beethoven Defiant, Energetic, Heartfelt - lecture in German, Swedish subtitles 25 min

Intermission 30 min

Sørensen Schreie und Melancholie 22 min

Beethoven Symphony No 2 33 min


Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen

Patrik Ringborg conductor

Elisabeth Leonskaja piano

Sarah Christian concertmaster

Åke Holmquist lecturer

Questions? Contact the ticket office