Göteborgs Symfoniker
Available until 15 August 2023

Messiaen: L’ascension

The conducting soprano Barbara Hannigan always surprises her audiences with well-considered and innovative concerts. On this occasion she gathers L’Ascension by Messiaen, Stravinsky’s choral tribute to the Lord in the firmament of his power and symphonies for wind instruments, and Ligeti’s harmonic crystal sounds – music that has triumphed over gravity. Pure beauty from three orchestral masters who have made invaluable contributions to the history of music. You can now enjoy all four pieces here on GSOplay.

In Olivier Messiaen, the visionary and the mystic are united with the inspired and skilled craftsman. In 1933 he completed his first major orchestral work, the symphonic meditations with the collective name L’Ascension. Although Messiaen’s compositional style is complicated, it is rooted in traditional tonality and the movements have been provided with key designations. It is about music that has a firm grip on the listener and that puts them almost in a trance.

Get news from GSOplay

Stay up to date with new concerts on GSOplay.


Messiaen L'ascension


Gothenburg Symphony Orchestra

Barbara Hannigan conductor