Live on GSOPlay

Master violinist James Ehnes

Add to calendar
Live broadcast 23 February 18.00
The first violin concerto to begin with timpani? Presumably, Beethoven knew what he was doing and imitation was not part of the process.

Inspiration and craftsmanship must have flowed in perfect harmony when he composed the work. The first movement is 20 minutes long –  and not a second too long – and with a matching trio and finale, it is a real classic, especially in the hands of the fabulously musical James Ehnes. Kent Nagano holds the baton and also delivers Mendelssohn’s Fifth Symphony, composed in 1830 for the 300th anniversary of the Augsburg Confession – one of Protestantism’s most important documents and in Mendelssohn’s case, a musical celebration of a noble kind.

Bach Ein feste Burg 5 min
Mendelssohn Symphony No 5 “Reformation” 33 min
Intermission 25 min
Beethoven Violin Concerto 42 min

Gothenburg Symphony
Kent Nagano conductor
James Ehnes violin


Subscribe to our newsletter to get information and offers from Göteborgs Konserthus directly to your inbox once or twice a month.

I want to subscribe

Newsletter from GSOplay

Subscribe to our newsletter from GSOplay and keep updated about what and when things happen.

I want to subscribe

School newsletter

Subscribe to this newsletter to keep updated about school conserts played in Göteborgs Konserthus.

I want to subscribe